Lakeside Swim & Racquet Club: The Early Years
In 1956, Lakeside Recreation Association was formed by a group of visionaries in the community who recognized the value of having a safe and wholesome place for families and children to gather and enjoy the summer months. The founding Board of Directors acquired eight acres of land, which is nestled in a beautiful, tree-lined setting with Rocky Branch Creek running through the property. Ever since, we have been one of "the best kept secrets in Lakeside."
In the summer of 1957, the original pool was opened with over 100 Charter members. Since then, tennis courts and an additional competitive pool were added. In 1972, the name of the association was changed to Lakeside Swim and Racquet Club, which better reflected both the swim and tennis aspects of the Club.
Many children in the greater Richmond area have grown up wiling away their summers swimming and playing tennis at Lakeside. We are pleased that so many of those children have returned as adult members to raise their own children and grandchildren at this family oriented facility. We applaud our founding families for their vision and determination and thank the many volunteers over the years who have kept the vision alive and successfully guided us through changing times, natural disasters, and financial challenges. For over fifty years, our success continues to be in the hands and hearts of our members whose willingness to give freely of their time and talents ensure the future of Lakeside Swim & Racquet Club.